Rhett Davies

Publié le 5 Mai 2019

Rhett Davies (born 1949 in London) is an English record producer and engineer.

Photo de gauche à droite: Simon Willey, Bryan Ferry, Rhett Davies

Photo de gauche à droite: Simon Willey, Bryan Ferry, Rhett Davies

Davies' father was trumpet player Ray Davies (no relation to Ray Davies of The Kinks). Davies became a studio engineer at Island Records studios in the early 1970s, and his first session was the recording process for Brian Eno's album, Taking Tiger Mountain (By Strategy). Davies and Eno worked together on several further projects and made innovations in studio recording techniques, especially regarding tape loops and drum machines. He went on to produce many artists of the 1970s and 1980s, but largely retired from production work in the 1990s, although he continued to work with Bryan Ferry, e.g. on Dylanesque (2007), Olympia (co-producer, 2010) and Avonmore (2014). 


Davies produced and/or engineered the following albums:

  • Genesis - Selling England by the Pound
  • Bryan Ferry - Another Time, Another Place, Boys and Girls, Dylanesque, Olympia, The Jazz Age, Avonmore
  • Roxy Music - Viva!, Manifesto, Flesh and Blood, Avalon, High Road
  • Trapeze - Hot Wire
  • Robert Palmer - Sneakin' Sally Through the Alley, Maybe It's Live
  • Brian Eno - Taking Tiger Mountain, Another Green World, Evening Star, Before and After Science, Ambient : Music for Airports, Music for Films
  • Jim Capaldi - Whale Meat Again
  • Phil Manzanera - Diamond Head, 801 Live, Listen Now, Primitive Guitars
  • Camel - Snow Goose, Moonmadness, Rain Dances, A Live Record
  • The Hollies - Russian Roulette, Crazy Steal
  • Russ Ballard - Winning
  • Dire Straits - Dire Straits
  • Talking Heads - More Songs About Buildings and Food
  • King Crimson - Discipline, Beat
  • The B-52's - Wild Planet, Party Mix!
  • Split Enz - Second Thoughts, Enz of an Era
  • Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark - Dazzle Ships
  • Icehouse - Measure for Measure
  • Cock Robin - First Love Last Rites
  • Til Tuesday - Welcome Home
  • Wang Chung - Huang Chung
  • Then Jerico - The Big Area

Rédigé par Rolling Stones Stories

Publié dans #Producteur

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article