Little Joe Blue

Publié le 25 Mai 2019

Little Joe Blue (September 23, 1934 – April 22, 1990) was an American electric blues singer and guitarist. His musical style was often compared to B. B. King. His most notable track was "Dirty Work Going On", which was written by Ferdinand "Fats" Washington, and originally recorded by Little Joe Blue in 1966. It was released by Checker Records. The track peaked at No. 40 in the US Billboard R&B chart.

Little Joe Blue

He was born Joseph Valery, Jr. in Vicksburg, Mississippi, United States. Living in Detroit, Michigan, he formed the band the Midnighters in the late 1950s. He moved to Los Angeles, California, where he cut some records for Kent, Jewel and Checker Records in the 1960s. His 1966 song, "Dirty Work Going On" (US Billboard R&B, No. 40), was covered by Magic Sam and Shakey Jake Harris, and by Willie Kent & His Gents. Little Joe Blue recorded for various labels, including Evejim Records, throughout the 1980s. He played at the San Francisco Blues Festival in 1974, travelled to Europe in 1982, and appeared at the Chicago Blues Festival in 1986.

Little Joe Blue's Greatest Hits (1996), a two-album set available on CD via Evejim, included (among others) the tracks "Dirty Work Going On", "Encourage Me Baby", "Don't Start Me to Talkin'" and Little Milton's "How Could You Do It to Me". He died in Reno, Nevada, United States, in April 1990 at the age of 55, from stomach cancer. He had two children: one son, Joseph Devon Valery (born February 26, 1959), and one daughter, Angela Maria Valery (born July 5, 1960). 

Studio albums
  • Southern Country Boy (Jewel, 1972)
  • Happy Here - "Earthy Blues" (Space, 1973)
  • Best Of The Blues (Kris, 1978)
  • It's My Turn Now (Empire Enterprise, 1984)
  • Dirty Work Going On (Evejim, 1987)
  • I'm Doing All Right Again (Evejim, 1989)
Collaborative album
  • Chicago Blues Festival '86 with Eddie Burns (Black & Blue, 1993)
Compilation albums
  • Blue's Blues (Jewel, 1987)
  • Greatest Hits (Evejim, 1996)
  • The Very Best Of Little Joe Blue (Collectables, 2006)
  • Dirty Work Goin' On (Black & Blue, 2008)

Rédigé par Rolling Stones Stories

Publié dans #Musicien

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article